Work & Family

Working Mum's, Real Life, Real Issues, Real People

It’s Just One of Those Days……. ‘Sad Face’!

on May 23, 2013

You all know the days I’m talking about; you feel grumpy and snappy but can’t explain why. Speaking to people requires a huge amount of effort as well as motivation and it appears that anything and everything you turn your hand to simply doesn’t work out. Of course it’s not really as bad as this. A non sufferer of anxiety will just put it down to ‘one of those days’ and plod on. For others however, such as myself, the feelings are intensified by the knot of ‘murrness’ lurking deep within the pit of the stomach. It’s like it just sits there lurking in the wings, desperate to make an unwanted appearance, resulting in butterflies the size of bats fluttering around the stomach with a side portion of paranoia! ‘That client emailed me ‘this response’ so he MUST be thinking I am incapable’. ‘A particular company hasn’t got back to me so they MUST be choosing to ignore me’! ‘My husband has asked me if there is a clean dress for our youngest so he MUST be hinting at the giant washing pile I have discussed in a previous post’! And finally, ‘My friend has not replied to me for a couple of days so that MUST mean she now doesn’t want me in her life’! Let’s break it down……

Cranky Pants

Image says it all…….

So the client I have decided thinks I am unable to carry out the work due to a recent response has not actually said those very words. His emails are always short and to the point as is his telephone manor. I know him well enough to understand that any issues would be brought immediately to my attention. Situation and analysis of problem number one dealt with.

Let’s move on. The company that happen to have not yet responded or as I worded it ‘are ignoring me’. Three days waiting for a response is not a long time in the grand scheme of things. I am notorious for being impatient yet can seriously take my time when it comes to responding. My friends (the close ones of which I’m lucky to be blessed with a handful of) all understand that when I don’t text back or call it’s just because I am busy/useless (tongue in cheek). I have one friend who will text me the same message repeatedly, every day until I answer. Another friend will text my phone, call my phone, ring the house phone then bring out the big guns by sending a text to my husband who will say ‘Helen, can you call this person and let them know you are still alive please’! Getting back to the lack of response from ‘said’ company, businesses have a lot to deal with on a daily basis, not just me – shock horror I know. You mean I am not the centre of the universe? Second issue analysed to the max and dealt with. Patience is a virtue.

Worry number three – the washing….. let’s face it, this one doesn’t even deserve a second thought. Husband was not hinting, just required some form of clothing for the child. If he was hinting then tough boobies – he knows where the washer is!

Final thought swimming around my brain is the lack of contact from a friend. Given what I have just said about my response process I don’t think this one requires any further question! The real friends are those that you don’t speak with for months on end then run into whilst out shopping and chat as if you saw each other the previous day.

If I can part with any worthy knowledge at all it’s the fact that people are strange – myself probably more than most! I can just hear certain voices laughing hysterically at my last statement given some of the recent conversations I’ve been involved in regarding alien abduction and reptilian likeness for Rhesus Negative individual’s (I may expand on this in future posts but possibly run the risk of losing readers)! I think I shall revoke the word ‘strange’ and replace it with ‘unique’. Everyone has their quirks, their issues, insecurities, paranoia’s and anxieties. It’s how we deal with each of these that matters. A logical thought process requires many to take a step back in order to work through the problem. Good old fashion laughter is a great back up. Keep smiling everyone 🙂

Smiley Face

‘Ta Daaa’!

 

One response to “It’s Just One of Those Days……. ‘Sad Face’!

  1. Al says:

    Been having “one of those days” myself, but that last paragraph has cheered me right up 🙂 Unique? Damn right! Wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

Leave a Reply

